08 Aug California’s Car Modification Regulations
Car enthusiasts view their vehicle like an extension of themselves, or like a best friend, pet, or child. They take great care of the vehicle. They give it a name, and customize it to their liking so that it is not like the rest of the same makes and models. Car enthusiasts truly prize their vehicles and make modifications that cost quite a bit. There is quite a bit of freedom when it comes to car modifications, yet there are also certain regulations and laws the car owner must stay within in California.
Rear and back side windows can be as dark as the owner wants, but front side windows cannot. Front side windows can only be tinted so dark, because it must allow over 70% of light to shine through.
Cars may not have more than 2 spotlights with white lamps. These spotlights must not illuminate past 300 feet from the vehicle. Additionally, cars can only have two fog lights.
Every car engine must be certified for use. Cars may only be equipped with emission control systems that were originally made for that specific vehicle or one of a newer model. All vehicles must pass regular smog checks.
Sound systems must not be heard over 50 feet from the vehicle if it is driving on a highway.
Frame and Suspension
A vehicle can be lifted as high as 5 inches, but no more than that.
Anyone who modifies their car illegally will not only be given a ticket, but they will also be required to remove the illegal modification parts. These modification laws help ensure a few things:
- That there is less disturbance to other drivers, pedestrians on the street, and people in their homes or workplace.
- That the environment is taking in the least amount of toxins.
- That people are alert and aware of when emergency vehicles need to pass by.